DIY Hamburgers

My parents called me for dinner and instead of the usual 炒米饭 (fried rice) and 白菜 (boiled cabbage), there was a bowl with what looked like a hamburger. Though knowing my family, I knew that there was no way that it was an honest-to-goodness, beef patty, hamburger. And I was right.

As I picked it up, my Mama said, “DIY汉堡。爸爸做。” (“DIY hamburger. Baba made it.”). My suspicions were proved correct when I took a bite and it was lettuce, very sweet mayo, and two slices of white cheese that I really can’t determine the type of on a sesame seed hamburger bun.

At first I was a little annoyed because I hadn’t eaten lunch and wanted something a little more substantial, but then I realized that they think I am a dedicated vegetarian because I never eat the meat that they give me (China meat is hella sketchy, it’s a sacrifice I’m willing to make). So, their intentions were pure and it turned out not to be too bad of a dinner, though I might teach them how to make grilled cheese for the next time they want to experiment with making American foods.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

Thursday my family and I move to a new apartment, which means right now our old apartment is even more claustrophobic because of the ridiculous amount of boxes and gadgets that now litter our very small sitting room and hallway, but it also means that when we move we all get the luxury of larger bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a dining room separate from the kitchen.

My little sister just left for Singapore (I’m incredibly jealous right now, Singapore is hella rad), which means I get undivided attention from Ma and Ba. This is going to be a great opportunity to connect more, but also could be a little bit too much attention for me. But as I say almost every single hour now, 没事 (mei shi er) which literally translates to “nothing”, but really means “no prob”.

And an odd/typical China thing I saw on my walk home from the bus stop today was a Mercedes parked in the middle of a two way road. Nobody was in the car and nobody on either side of the road could get by it. You wouldn’t believe the horns. I’m pretty sure parking in China is the most uncivilized aspect of our world.

Leave a comment