(If you wanted to read about my trip to Shanxi province 1000 years ago).

During November, our school took us to a province near Beijing (but sadly much colder than Beijing). I wrote these reflections in my notes on my phone, but only got around to publishing the reflection about Datong. So, even though they’re almost too old to publish, here ya go:

Ping Yao was the next city to visit on our itinerary in Shanxi and it was easily my favorite part of our trip. It is one of the last ancient cities left in China, which means that electricity is one of the most modern technologies present. Cars are not allowed on the streets, so we had to take these small golf-carts from outside the city walls to our hotel. Speaking of our hotel, it was freezing cold, barely had mattresses, and had a very questionable menu. However, it made up for that in character. The courtyard was cozy and left room to play soccer and a Chinese version of hacky sack. The roofs were reminiscent of ancient temples and there was an adorable husky (we all thought that it was a real wolf at first because it was so dirty) that would steal your food if you weren’t paying close enough attention to it, not that that was all too bad considering the less than pleasant taste of it.

Sadly, we only stayed in Ping Yao for one night, but it was such an unique experience that I feel like I was there for the perfect amount of time. We were sent off to fend for ourselves once again, as well as explore the local night market that sold a mix of tourist items and actual antiques. My friends and I ended up spending all of our money at that market and ate a small hole in the wall where you eat hot pot while sitting on a tree trunk.

We also got to tour all of the ancient parts of the city and learn about its culture, however, I gleaned most of my knowledge of Chinese culture in Ping Yao from the people and artifacts in the night market. I also learned how to bargain like a pro. Or a semi-pro. All you have to do is yell the price you want repeatedly until the shop owner gets so annoyed they accept it so that you will leave.

All in all, if you ever get the chance to go to the Shanxi province in China, visiting Pingyao is a must.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

We were in Taiyuan for the shortest amount of time out of all the places we went to in Shanxi. Taiyuan is your average Chinese city. It’s more modern than Datong, but looks a little more polished than Beijing (at least in my opinion).
When we got to Taiyuan we went out to a local park with our APES class and did a lab on population with bubbles. My group, of course, managed to spill almost all of our bubble juice during a fight over who would be blowing the bubbles, so we were at a slight disadvantage, but in the end all turned out fine. Just a lot of dead bubbles to be mourned by the end of that lab.
That night we were once again allowed to go wander around the city on our own and a group of friends and I ended up at a well-known night market. It went up a long alleyway and sold every knockoff item imaginable, from Daisy by Marc Jacobs to long-sleeve shirts with “Cocococococococo” up the arms (which my friends and I all actually purchased).
The night market wasn’t any different that going to the ones in Beijing, but we were all very excited to shop and see Taiyuan which is very pretty at night with all their lights.

One thought on “(If you wanted to read about my trip to Shanxi province 1000 years ago).

Leave a comment